so speaking of wanderlust

So, speaking of wanderlust…

For a woman with 6 kids, I have an impressive desire to move to foreign places. Not overseas necessarily – although if my husband woke up tomorrow and said he wanted to move us to Nairobi, I’d probably just start packing. It’s not that I don’t love where I am, it’s just… Well, this itch for change that I can’t quite quantify or fully explain.

I’m sure some psychotherapist could stop me here and decode the meaning of my wanderlust, be it daddy issues or fear of commitment or whatever else. But hey, that would take all the mystery out of it. 😉

I think at least a piece of this wanderlust, this desire to pack up and go (with all my people in tow!) goes back to how we were all wired. Remember the sabbath year in the Bible? The year or jubilee? Cancel all the debts! Rest! Reset! (Google this if you haven’t checked it out – start in Leviticus & Deuteronomy – I so wish we practiced this as a culture in some way other than bankruptcy law! Haha!)

We were designed for resets. And when we don’t get them, the wanderlust arrives.

I do believe that God has placed me in this place and time for a reason, though. With all – or at least 99% of – my heart. And I probably should not pack my bags for Quito or Albuquerque or any place else just yet.

Leave a Reply

