friday

The faith of my childhood taught me that Jesus was untroubled by Good Friday. I honestly pictured Him going joyfully, grinning all the way to the cross from the flannel-board lessons I experienced. I don’t know, maybe it was only my own filter. But that’s how I pictured it.

This perspective flawed my view on God and sin a bit, I think. When you believe Christ was happy about His own crucifixion, well… that’s a whole lotta pressure. It’s also not what the Bible shows us about His story.

He prayed more fervently, and he was in such agony of spirit that his sweat fell to the ground like great drops of blood. -Luke 22:44

He asked 3 times if this cup could be passed from Him. I mean, obviously submitting to the Father’s will trumps all of that… But you guys, it wasn’t easy. Even for Jesus.

Sometimes life isn’t easy. And I can tell my Jesus that things are hard and I don’t want this to be how my day or week or season to be. That is not a sin.

Looking forward to Sunday, when we will lift up in worship a perfect, sinless, risen Savior.

Leave a Reply

