thursday

I’ve only just heard of Maundy Thursday as an adult. I kept thinking my mother was saying she was going to “Monday Thursday” service the first time she mentioned it. Huh? Once I was aware that such a thing as Maundy Thursday (or Holy Thursday in some churches) existed, it was in the context of super traditional churches who I didn’t see as relevant or for me.

So very many years ago, Jesus sat at a table with his best friends. His people. The ones He traveled with, He worked alongside, He did life with. He served these friends a meal. He looked across the table at them for what was probably the hundredth or thousandth time.

The whole time, He knew they were about to abandon and betray him.

Have you ever been hurt by a friend? Felt betrayed? Crushed?

Can you imagine KNOWING the people who caused you so much pain were hours away from causing it and actively loving them anyway?

Maybe I’m just getting older. But I think life and love, scars and wounds teach us so much.

On this side of the past 2 years of my life, I think Holy Thursday holds so much power and shows us so much about our Savior. It shows me who He is. And it shows me how much I need Him.

Leave a Reply

